Archive for November 26, 2012

My first Daz|Studio Render (that isn’t pants)

Posted in Artwork, Software with tags , , , , , , , , , , on November 26, 2012 by seedydeedee

Daz|Studio is 3D posing, rendering and animation software that has been available for free for many years.  I’ve never been a fan.  I found Poser first, and have happily paid for upgrades to it since about 2004, and firmly believe it’s well worth the money.

I’ve used a lot of different 3D modelling and rendering packages over the years, and like to think that most of my lighting / rendering skills are transferrable from one to another.  My main beef with Daz|Studio has always been that despite my knowledge, the best render I can achieve with its native render engine is along the lines of the below:

However, I came across a really good tutorial today, involving the uberenvironment shader, along with 3-point lighting + spotlight.  The results are below.  The hair took a while to render, but the results are good enough for me to possibly consider adding Daz|Studio to my render arsenal after all these years.

 

Maybe…

Conan Obsession…?

Posted in Artwork with tags , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , on November 26, 2012 by seedydeedee

After a period of self-imposed austerity measures, I finally got hold of this awesome ‘Altas‘ morph and texture pack from Renderosity.  I’ve been duly making Conans with it ever since.  This one was rendered in Poser Pro 2012.

Growing up, I loved Robert E Howard’s tales of Conan, the quintessential barbarian hero, and I read many Conan comics, and loved the 1981 film with Arnie.  The recent remake with Jason Momoa far exceeded my expectations though – I felt they really captured the essence of the character, and I’m hoping for more films along the same lines over the next few years. :)

In the meantime, here’s some more Conan, rendered in Carrara 8 Pro.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 406 other followers

